Book sale finds

Every year a BBCE friend and I go to the NEISD PTA’s annual book sale. It’s held over a few days and we tend to go on the last day because it’s bag day, where you buy a reusable bag for $10 and get to fill it up with as many books as it will hold (regular prices are 50 cents for paperbacks and $1 for hardbacks.) Bag day is really more for my friend than for me — this year she and her two kids filled up three bags and I walked away with… FOUR PAPERBACKS! A whopping $2! Woo! 😉

The scene. On Day 1, there are easily twice as many books.

The scene. On Day 1, there are easily twice as many books.

I always look for authors I like or books I’ve heard of that sound interesting, but by bag day those are pretty much snapped up. My choices, then, are made by title alone. If it’s clever or interesting, I’ll read the blurb on the back of the book. If I’m still interested, I’ll buy. A lot of people aren’t as self-disciplined at used book sales because there’s so little risk involved. Even if you hate a book, you’re only out 50 cents. Not me, and for two reasons — 1) I have a stack of books from sales past that I haven’t even read yet, and 2) I’m inherently cheap.

Here are this year’s finds:

Chose because of a quote on the back: "It's so primal, so dangerous, it might be the most ingenious book I've ever read." Josh Kilmer-Purcell

Chosen because of a quote on the back: “It’s so primal, so dangerous, it might be the most ingenious book I’ve ever read.” Josh Kilmer-Purcell

Chosen because I don't have enough  Twain.

Chosen because I don’t have enough Twain.

Chosen because I generally enjoy contemporary re-imaginings of classics.

Chosen because I generally enjoy contemporary re-imaginings of classics.

Chosen because the title sounds super appealing. My friend endorsed it, too.

Chosen because the title sounds super appealing. My friend endorsed it, too.

One thought on “Book sale finds

  1. Thanks for giving me a peek inside this book sale. I’ve been donating books for this event for years, but have never gone. (I don’t want to come home with more books.) Kudos to your discipline and great finds!

Leave a Reply

