Rainn Wilson, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and me

Not really.

But, for lack of anything else to blog about at the moment, I once again share this excellent interview that Rainn Wilson conducts in the back of his van with Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Rainn (like we’re on a first name basis) does this with a lot of people, and I love it. So I’m going to pretend that the questions were asked to me. We’ll just call it another getting-to-know-your-blogger post.

1. When was the last time you were in the back of someone’s van?

Well, since my Grandma has decided that what I drive is a van (it is not), I’d say a couple of days ago when I was getting stuff out of the back seat.

2. If you could go anywhere, where would you like to go?

London, because I want to stalk Caitlin Moran and make her be my friend.

3. Is there such a thing as an original idea?

I’d say no, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Everything is inspired by something else. The execution can be unique and individual, but the genesis of the idea is likely not original. That being said, I find the amount of flat-out remakes that Hollywood is churning out to be super annoying.

4. What is your favorite candy?

Twizzlers.

5. Who is your hero?

Thor.

6. Do you pray?

No.

7. What is your favorite word?

Discombobulated.

8. List five pieces of art that give you an artgasm.

“While My Guitar Gently Weeps” by the Beatles, “Apollo and Daphne” by Gian Lorenzo Bernini, that one Pollock in the Met that I go stare at for a while every time I’m in NYC, “Gone With the Wind” (book and film), any good tap dancing.

9. Something you (recently) learned that blew your mind.

I’d fallen under the common misconception that The Immaculate Conception is a reference to the conception of Jesus, when, in fact, it refers to the conception of Mary. What?? I had no idea. I’m still processing it, like, weeks later.

So, that’s it. I’ll have a proper post for y’all next week (Friday is QOTW, lest you forgot). If any of y’all want to answer the questions in the comments, please do. If any of y’all have other fun, random questions for me to answer, please ask. Happy Wednesday!

4 thoughts on “Rainn Wilson, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and me

  1. As I sat here and read this out loud, as I sometimes do to my husband and son, I really did LOL after reading your answer to the first question! It brought tears to my eyes. Your grandma is really funny!

  2. 1. When was the last time you were in the back of someone’s van?
    In April 2012, I was in the front seat of a van. Someone picked me up from the PATH station in New Jersey, for a brief shoot at a really, really crappy motel.

    2. If you could go anywhere, where would you like to go?

    Los Angeles, to get a fresh career start and some sun.

    3. Is there such a thing as an original idea?

    I guess that depends on how you define an idea. There are all sorts of basic plot structures like human vs. nature, human vs. himself, etc. Or basic concepts like time travel. But those building blocks continue to inspire lots of unique ways of telling stories. So yes, I think there are original ideas.

    4. What is your favorite candy?

    Cake.

    5. Who is your hero?

    Thor.

    6. Do you pray?

    Sort of. I meditate, I try to remember to say many silent thank yous every day.

    7. What is your favorite word?

    Depth.

    8. List five pieces of art that give you an artgasm.

    “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”, the film. Too many pieces of good writing to list. The poetry of Billy Collins. “Outro”, a song by M83. Most songs by Modest Mouse. The album “Boxer” by The National. Tom Cruise talking about Scientology.

    9. Something you (recently) learned that blew your mind.

    That Lysol was marketed as a douche for women in the 1920s. True story.

Leave a Reply

