Mandala Workshop

You may have noticed that I talk about mandalas a bit. There are a bunch of reasons why I love making them so much: it’s relaxing, there are no rules, it sparks conversations, it sparks creativity, I like colors, I like things that are round, I feel like I learn something each time…

My aunt, who introduced me to mandalas in the first place, agreed to host a workshop at her house for any of my book club friends who would like to learn. Kim ended up being the Lone Ranger, and she took to it like a duck to water. Is it weird to say I’m proud of her? If it is, oh well — I’m proud. 🙂

It was a lovely way to spend a cold evening. Thank you so much to Laila for opening up her house, letting us use her materials and being our mandala guru. And to Christiane for joining us, and to Val for letting us take over the house, and to Bella for being plain old cute.

Stations are prepped.

Stations are prepped.

Supplies

Supplies

Sustenance. And it totally fits the round theme.

Sustenance. And it totally fits the round theme.

Round 1: Christiane's reading an interpretation, Laila's listening and Kim's hard at work.

Round 1: Christiane’s reading an interpretation, Laila’s listening and Kim’s hard at work.

Round 1

Round 1

Round 2

Round 2

Bella is worn out!

Bella is worn out!

Things I noticed about my mandalas this time around: 1) I didn’t smudge the colors to smooth them out; I wanted the chalky look and purposely left them au naturale — that’s the first time I’ve ever done that. 2) I intentionally left white space between the colors, another first for me. 3) Both of mine have a fragmented theme and no solid edge, another first.

Round 1: "Fragments"

Round 1: “Fragments”

Round 2: "Cobblestones"

Round 2: “Cobblestones”

I won’t break down all the colors because that would take ages, but here’s what my mandala book says about fragmentation (which is Stage Eleven, for those in the know. Don’t be impressed; I have no idea what difference that makes):

“… a time of fear, confusion, loss of meaning, and disorientation. One’s world has fallen apart. During this stage we may find ourselves in a state of altered consciousness where intuition becomes prominent and synchronicities are commonplace. … We experience ourselves moved around by inexorable forces over which we have no control. …  Fragmentation can be experienced at a time of purification. … It may be comforting to remember that this is a necessary, natural process that makes possible the miraculous regeneration of the new.”

Apparently I’m going through some deep stuff. Who knew? My subconscious, that’s who! Of course, everything I read I tie back to this experience of trying to get my book published. It’s definitely a scary thing. It seems I’m more scared than I’m letting on. But hey, at least I’m getting some pretty art out of it, right?

2 thoughts on “Mandala Workshop

  1. What I like about the “fragmentation” theme is that it’s noted that this can occur during a time of purification. You’re purifying your diet with the Monday-Thursday vegan-ness. You’re possibly purifying your personal time of distractions by limiting TV and working on your book proposal/query letters. I think it’s spot on and that’s really cool!

Leave a Reply

