October in Review

What did I do in October? Oh, yeah, I was in Italy for the first three days of the month. 🙂 I think I’ve exhausted that trip on this blog, though, so I won’t say anything else about it… for now. After a rowdy case of jet lag and getting back into the swing of regular life, there wasn’t much time for anything else. I’d like to tell y’all that I was busy meeting my Halloween deadline of having the final draft of “There With You” ready to go. Sadly, that didn’t happen. Here’s what did:

Books

BBCE chose Lars Keplers’ “The Hypnotist” as a spooky, Halloween-y murder mystery for this month. Seriously, what is it with Swedes and their crazy people/serial killer plots? My friends and I have decided that since it’s too cold there to do anything, they must just sit around and think up horrific ways for people to kill and torture each other. Who wants to go to Sweden?!?! 😉 This one starts out with an entire family being gruesomely murdered except for the teenage son, who is so traumatized that he has to be hypnotized for detectives to get some answers out of him. This leads us to the back story of Erik, the hypnotist. When Erik’s son is kidnapped, the question is not if one of his hypnosis patients has committed the crime, but, rather, which.

Movies

I wanted to see it anyway, but Dianna insisted I see “Pitch Perfect” or else she wouldn’t answer the phone when I called her. (True story, but I’d like to think she really would have answered the phone.) Anyway, this movie made me laugh a lot. Rebel Wilson steals the show, Anna Kendrick holds her own in the singing and the comedic performance, and the guy who plays Jesse is super cute. The story is fun, the characters are quirky and man, I really missed Ace of Base. (That last part is not true.) This movie is like Season 1 of “Glee,” before it got ridiculous and Ryan Murphy-ed. My sister wants to see it, and I’m totally up for seeing it again.

Internet Highlights

I totally want a set of banned books trading cards!

As if anybody needed another reason to adore Johnny Depp. Seriously, the man can do no wrong.

The “truth” behind the fairy tales, in case you want to hit little girls with a dose of reality.

Yay! I’m not the only one who feels like the worst writer in the world!

10 writing myths and 10 awesome things about being a writer. Hint: One is getting to say “I’m a writer.” 🙂

The 1o most read books in the world. (I knew #1, but some of the others are a surprise.)

In contrast, 9 embarrassing things that should never have been published.

Coming up in November

“There With You” will be finalized, query letters will be drafted and I’ll have at least six sent by the end of the month. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday of all, so I’m super happy that’s coming up. I’ll be doing my Month of Thanks posts on Twitter, so follow me for those if you like. Spoiler alert: I’m thankful for all of YOU. 🙂

I leave you with a parting shot of this year’s Halloween costume.

Where in the world is…

4 thoughts on “October in Review

  1. firstly – your costume turned out awesome – is that “cherries in the snow” lipstick you have on?!

    secondly – BA HA HA HA HA !!!! @ the Pitch Perfect poster – “Get pitch slapped.” Thats hysterical, I cannot wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

