Things I Learned About Rome

Hello! I’ve been back for 5 days now (and what a 5 days it’s been – whew!) and am bursting at the seams to tell y’all about my trip. Unfortunately technology has failed me yet again and for some reason my camera and computer hate each other right now, so I am unable to upload my good photos. I can, however, share the crappy ones I took on my phone. So I’m going to do that today and hopefully on Wednesday the camera photos will be good to go.

Also, I journaled every night while I was in Italy and made a list of “Things I’ve Learned About Rome,” so I’ll share that with you, too.

Here we go:

  1. It’s 100 times more beautiful at night.
  2. Free water fountains are fantastic.
  3. You can’t sit at a table that’s bigger than the number of people in your party.
  4. Sometimes you have to run out into traffic.
  5. They don’t like giving out change if they don’t have to. (Do not try paying with 20s. They hate 20s.)
  6. Every place that serves gelato has the same neon ice cream cone sign lit up outside.
  7. It’s cool in the mornings and evenings; hot in the afternoons.
  8. Machines are very picky about accepting cash and only give out limited change.
  9. One of the best things is to just sit in a piazza for a little while.
  10. The weather becomes perfect right around 5 p.m.
  11. The hot and cold knobs are labeled F and C (for freddo, cold, and caldo, hot).
  12. Italians don’t stand in line. They walk up to the front regardless of whether or not another person is there waiting.
  13. Their basic tomato (pomodoro) sauce is 100 times better than anything in the U.S.
  14. Most things are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
  15. The female newscasters dress like they’re about to go to the club.
  16. Traffic/parking rules are really only suggestions.

I wrote much more down, but that’s the basic list. Now for the phone photos:

That’s a pretty sweet bow on the lady behind me in that last photo. 😉

5 thoughts on “Things I Learned About Rome

Leave a Reply

