WWNED? What Would Nora Ephron Do?

Nora Ephron wrote and/or directed my favorite rom-com movies, all of which happen to star Meg Ryan and two out of three of which also happen to star Tom Hanks. “When Harry Met Sally,” “Sleepless in Seattle” and “You’ve Got Mail.”

Rom-coms are, for the most part, terrible. The reason Nora’s are so good is that she makes the characters likeable, writes dialogue that knocks your socks off and yeah, okay, we’re not all going to find our true love on Valentine’s Day at the top of the Empire State Building, but when it happened to Meg and Tom I totally believed it.

The thing I’m working on during this go around of “The Artist’s Way” would end up being a rom-com. As I write, I ask myself over and over: What Would Nora Ephron Do?

“When Harry Met Sally”

“Sleepless in Seattle”

“You’ve Got Mail”

Just make it real and it’ll work. That’s what I think she’d do, so that’s what I’m trying to do, too. 🙂

One thought on “WWNED? What Would Nora Ephron Do?

Leave a Reply

