11 Random Things

So I’m about halfway done with the extra chapter that I’m going to add to my book. Because I was writing this weekend (and picking confetti out of my hair for the better part of an evening), I didn’t take the time to come up with a super clever blog post for today. Therefore I am stealing one from my friend Stephanie from high school. Her blog, Froggy & the Mouse, is about her adventures raising two little boys. Seriously, parents of little ones — follow her. I don’t even have kids and I love reading her posts. 🙂

Anyway, sometimes she does these getting-to-know-your-blogger things. She posted these questions and then said to come up with 11 random facts about myself on my own. (I think that was the challenge. I only copied the questions so I can’t remember.) Here it goes!

1. What is your most favorite place on Earth?

Port A, my grandma’s kitchen, my grandparents’ backyard, my parents’ front porch, the top of Enchanted Rock… so, I guess, in a nutshell, TEXAS! 🙂

2. If you woke up with an extra $10,000 tomorrow, what’s the first thing you would buy? {and DON’T say ‘pay off debt’. LAME.}

I’d book my trip to Italy (supposed to be happening this fall — fingers crossed), save some and then donate the rest to the Paisano.

3. Facebook, or Twitter?

I never thought I’d say it, but… Twitter. I’m following a lot of authors and lit agents and getting tons of useful advice and resources. Very cool. 🙂

4. What’s your favorite book?

GAH!! 😦 To Kill a Mockingbird, Little Women, the Little House series, the Harry Potter series, anything by Marisa de los Santos, Gone with the Wind and the thesaurus. (Yes. I am a dork.)

5. If you could go back and do one thing differently THIS WEEK, what would it be?

Go to bed earlier.

6. What’s one thing you wish you knew how to do really well?

Sing.

7. Iced tea: sweet or unsweet?

Unsweet, but with sweetener. Yeah, I said it. (Explanation: Sweet tea is TOO sweet. I just need like 1/4 of the packet of sweetener in the glass and I’m good.)

8. If you were stranded on a deserted island tomorrow, who would you want to be stranded with? {ONE person only!}

Captain Jack Sparrow.

9. Have you, or have you not, ever thought about ordering a pair of pajama jeans? {no lying!!}

No ma’am.

10. What do you love/hate about blogging?

Love: It’s fun, cathartic and makes me feel productive. Hate: It’s work in the sense that I’m trying to build an audience, so I check the stats and plug myself on social media sites and it’s very easy to get discouraged if a post doesn’t “hit” the way I want.

11. How do you know me?

High school! JMHS class of '99. Go Rams! 🙂
(Picture of a picture, taken on my phone, hence the quality.)

Now, 11 random things:

1. I take personal offense if Mexican restaurants do not offer complimentary chips and salsa.

2. My red Mitsubishi Outlander is named Jessica Rabbit.

3. Seasons, ranked favorite to least favorite: Fall, Summer, Winter, Spring.

4. One of my dreams is to buy a few acres, build a house and rescue a bunch of dogs.

5. I’m obsessed with calaveras/Dia de los Muertos art/imagery.

6. If I ever met Johnny Depp or Kate Winslet in person, I would most likely burst into tears.

7. When I laugh really hard, I squeak. *blush*

8. If I was ever brave enough to get a tattoo, I’d get a feather quill on the inside of my right wrist.

9. Zachary Levi is my current celebrity crush.

10. I danced for 20 years. Tap is my favorite.

11. Summer Olympic Games > Winter Olympic Games. (London 2012! It’s so close, y’all!) 🙂

What about you? Answer some of the questions above or give me some random facts about yourself. Tell me something I don’t already know.

2 thoughts on “11 Random Things

  1. That’s a really tough one for me (for obvious reasons). When I get really stressed out, I have to plant a plant or something…..I have to literally touch nature and get my hands in the dirt. It relaxs me. Also, when I was about 10 years old I starting taking baton lessons with a friend of mine. I broke my arm and only got to take 2 lessons.

  2. I’m stealing this from you next! And, I’m so excited that you’re planning a trip to Italy. I’ve only been there once, but I LOVED every minute of it (except that the hills are really steep in Rome – but that’s a good workout at least!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

