Meet the BBCE!

A couple of years ago my friend Jenni invited me to join a book club that she and her friend Jennifer wanted to start. Seven of us — me, Jenni, Jennifer, Laura, Carol, JoCarol and Kim — met on a monthly basis. We chose a variety of selections: fiction, nonfiction, children’s/YA, biography, local author, banned and made-into-movies. (I might be forgetting some categories. Jenni will know.) We called ourselves BBCE. Best Book Club Ever. πŸ™‚

These women became some of my favorite people. Because of course we don’t just talk about books. We also talk about our lives, families, politics, entertainment, social issues… you name it. We’ve gone through break-ups, make-ups, babies, old jobs, new jobs… you name it.

Jenni’s neighbor Susan joined our group and brought us to eight members just a few months before JoCarol and Laura moved away. Kim invited her friend Natalie to join and I invited my friend Jessica right when Carol left, too. So we’re still at seven members — me, Jenni, Jennifer, Kim, Susan, Jessica and Natalie.

I told them to act like I wasn't there. πŸ™‚ L-R: Susan, Jennifer, Jenni, Jessica. Not pictured: Kim, Natalie

The best part about BBCE isn’t the books (though I’ve read a lot of wonderful and a few not-so-wonderful things thanks to this group). It’s the people. We are writers, artists, educators, businesswomen, travelers, mothers, wives, girlfriends and the perpetually single (me.)

These women came into my life exactly when I needed them. My best friends live in New York City (Hi Sam and Dianna! I just realized y’all’s names together like that sound like Sam and Diane from “Cheers”). I have plenty of friends in town, too, but BBCE has been this extra special perfect group of girlfriends for these past couple of years. I’m having a hard time explaining why, but I think part of it has to do with growing up and craving grown-up interaction. Does that make sense?

Anyway, I love this group and everyone who has been in it. I hope all of you have a group of friends you hang out with regularly. And if you talk about books (along with celebrities you’d leave your significant other for — a discussion we had at January’s meeting), all the better!

February’s selection is “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern. It’s my turn to host and I’m already geeking out about how I’m going to decorate my table. πŸ™‚ Stay tuned for those pictures!

11 thoughts on “Meet the BBCE!

  1. Pingback: Let’s talk about fear « stefawrites

  2. I am so glad you have this special group of friends; I do not think I would be as sane as I think I am without my group(s) of loyal, supporting, honest friends…more power to those so blessed.

  3. That sounds like a super fun time! I have been so bad at getting to read books since I “always had so many movies to watch”. But fuck that. (excuse my language). I read Gene Wilder’s biography this weekend and was totally inspired. Not by the fact the Gene Wilder is amazing but because I finished a book. That must sound sad to someone who reads books regularly. It is sad.

    Anyway, I went on amazon and bought Gilda Radner’s autobiography and Tina Fey’s Bossypants. I guess you could say I’m fascinated by what people have to say in their own words which I why I seem to follow blogs a bunch too πŸ™‚ Have you read any autobios or memoirs recently that you would recommend (other than Mindy Kaling’s because that’s in my Amazon shopping cart now)?

    Cheers to everyone in BBCE!

    • The last one I read was Mindy Kaling’s, which I liked. I also really liked “This is a Book” by Demetri Martin, which isn’t really about him but it’s his brand of comedy. I prefer the funny ones because sometimes the more serious ones can seem overly self-indulgent, which is what I heard about “Eat, Pray, Love” (and why I didn’t bother to read it.)

  4. Yay! We’re famous!
    I like how industriously I am stabbing my salad.
    Final thought: “South of Broad” is still the worst book ever.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

