January in review

Thanks to everyone who has read, commented and shared my blog this month. I really appreciate it. I’m looking forward to February, but first, take a look at what else I’ve been up to:

Books

“How Carrots Won the Trojan War, Curious (but True) Stories of Common Vegetables” by Rebecca Rupp. I picked this up at our company book sale based on the title alone. It turned out to be a really fun read. Spoiler alert: Every edible thing, at one time or another, was considered an aphrodisiac.

“The Hobbit” by J.R.R. Tolkien. This one was my book club’s January selection, which we chose because we were excited about the new movie. I’ve never read any Tolkien stuff, but I have seen (and own and love) all the LOTR movies. I seem to remember some people in high school having to read this for English class. One of my book clubbers is a high school English teacher. I have many questions for her.

“Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline. Holy crap, this is a great book! It’s “The Hunger Games” meets “The Matrix” meets every ’80s book, movie, TV show or game you’ve ever heard of. I’m so impressed by the amount of work it must have taken to write it. Plus, Cline lives in Austin, so I feel like he’s my neighbor. 🙂

“Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)” by Mindy Kaling. Kaling is a writer on “The Office” and the book is about basically everything that leads to her landing that gig. I love reading about people who make things happen for themselves, and she is one of them. It’s inspiring. Also, I love the part about her choosing an outfit for a dance audition. Poor, poor thing.

Movies

“Mission: Impossible 4, Ghost Protocol” Guns, fights, explosions and lots of Jeremy Renner. Works for me.

“The Artist” Basically the exact opposite of “M:I 4 GP” in every way. This movie is just gorgeous. I love everything about it. I hope it wins Best Picture.

Internet Highlights

“In Your Arms” by Kina Grannis on YouTube. Watch the making of video, too. I love creativity!

Why we need to let kids be creative on CNN.com

Mila’s Daydreams and this article on MSN.com about it. So cute!!

How to Live a Creative Life flow chart on FastCompany.com

Coming up in February

I’m participating in Mary Robinette Kowal’s Month of Letters Challenge. Do it with me!

4 thoughts on “January in review

  1. I really want to do the month of letters thing. I might mail my valentines one at a time, though!

    Also, I love this monthly recap and I’m so glad you’re blogging so regularly. It’s a real treat for me! And a lot of people, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

