My nephew, the artist

Standard

I’ve mentioned and shown my nephew’s affinity for art on this blog several times before, from turning my parents’ living room into a comic book to hosting his own art show on our family vacation last summer. Today I’ll brag on him again – one of his pieces from art class was selected to be in the district art show last weekend.

The show.

The show.

The artist, pointing to his work.

The artist, pointing to his work.

A closer shot. (The orange thing is part of a piece in front of it. I didn't want to mess it up by moving it.)

A closer shot. (The orange thing is part of a piece in front of it. I didn’t want to mess it up by moving it.)

My parents' neighbor (on the left), who is an artist and art teacher, my nephew, and his art teacher (on the right.)

My parents’ neighbor (on the left), who is an artist and art teacher, my nephew, and his art teacher (on the right.)

The piece is called “Leaf Prints.” I’m totally biased, of course, but I think it’s great. I was big into art at his age (he’s in first grade) and still dabble with my paints every once in a while, not to mention the whole mandala thing. Art is fabulous. I hope my nephew continues to do it as long as he loves it. I hope outside forces don’t influence him to give it up when he doesn’t really want to. And I really, really hope I get to see what he can do as he gets older. :)

One response »

Leave a Reply

